Text Size
What is Ergonomics About IEA IEA Projects IEA Projects IEA Awards Member's Area
Yearly Awards Triennial Awards Recipients
IEA Awards >>

Annual Awards

An important function of the International Ergonomics Association (IEA) is to award formal recognition to members of Federated Societies who have made outstanding contributions to the field of ergonomics on an international level. All awards are presented during the IEA Triennial Congress. The immediate Past President of IEA shall serve as Chair of the Awards Committee.

There are awards which are offered yearly and triennially. This page specifies the IEA yearly awards (See also Triennial Awards).

The IEA Fellowship

The IEA Fellowship is given to recognize extraordinary or sustained, superior accomplishments of an individual. To be considered for a fellowship two eligibility criteria must be satisfied. In addition, the candidate's distinction as ergonomics professional must be demonstrated.

Nominations are due April 30 every year.

IEA Fellow Nomination Form

The IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal

The IEA/Liberty Mutual Award was instituted in 1998. This award was originally composed of a Prize (given annually) and a Medal (best of the past three Prizes). The two were merged in 2009 into a Medal, and given annually.

The award recognizes outstanding original research leading to the reduction or mitigation of work-related injuries and/or to the advancement of theory, understanding, and development of occupational safety research. The IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal consists of a plaque (certificate), medal, and prize ($10.000).

The IEA/Liberty Mutual award winners are selected by an international review committee established by the IEA.

In 2016, the Liberty Mutual Medal was presented to Pieter Coenen, Idsart Kingma, Cécile R.L. Boot, Paulien M. Bongers, & Jaap H. van Dieën in conjunction with the Human FactorsNL Congress, November 24-25, 2016 in Amersfoort, the Netherlands. Pictured are Ernst Koningsveld, IEA Historian, and Pieter Coenen accepting on behalf of the research group.

The 2016 IEA Liberty Mutual Award ceremony

The following pictures show past Liberty Mutual Award ceremonies.

The 2015 IEA Liberty Mutual Award ceremony

Sarah Sharples accepted the Liberty Mutual medal on behalf of a group of UK researchers - Bob Muffett, John R. Wilson, Theresa Clarke, Anthony Coplestone, Emma Lowe , John Robinson, and Stuart Smith

The 2014 Liberty Mutual Award ceremony

The 2014 Liberty Mutual medal was presented to Dr. Priyadarshini R. Pennathur and Dr. Ayse P. Gurses.

The 2013 Liberty Mutual Award ceremony

The 2013 Liberty Mutual medal was presented to Sean Gallagher.

The 2012 Liberty Mutual Award ceremony

On October 25th, 2012, the Liberty Mutual medal was presented to Berry den Brinker at the biannual conference of the Dutch Ergonomics Society in Amersfoort.

Applications are due May 31 every year.

Call for the IEA / Liberty Mutual Award.