Text Size
What is Ergonomics About IEA IEA Projects IEA Projects IEA Awards Member's Area
Introduction Council Executive Committee Standing Committee Technical Committee Sustaining Members
About IEA >>


The governing body of the IEA is the Council. The Council consists of representatives of Federated Societies and elected Officers of the IEA. The Council makes all major decisions concerning the IEA, including rule changes, general policy, activities, admissions, election of officers and budget. Council admits all new members of the IEA in any category and will terminate membership for good cause. The Affiliated Societies and other non-voting members can attend the Council meeting as observers.

The Affiliated Societies are other national or international professional societies that are ineligible for federated member status or have an interest in ergonomics but have their main aim in an associated area. There are following Affiliated Societies:

Colombian Association of Research Ergonomists (CARE)
Human Ergology Society

IEA Networks are groupings of IEA federated societies, or its affiliates, formed to address specific needs. The Council approves the formation of an IEA Network based on a formal proposal stating the purpose, organizational structure and mode of operation and which is endorsed by participating societies. As of March 2018, there are following IEA networks:

Federation of European Ergonomics Societies (FEES)
La Unión Latinoamericana de Ergonomía (ULAERGO)
The South East Asian Network of Ergonomics Societies (SEANES)