The IEA/Tsinghua Award for Collaborative Human Factors and Ergonomics Education for Industrially Developing Countries (The IEA/Tsinghua Award)

The 2019 winners of the IEA/Tsinghua Award

The 2019 IEA/Tsinghua Award was given to D.Y. Sha (Ergonomics Society of Taiwan) nominated by the Tsinghua MEM Education Center for his contribution to a Master of Engineering Management Post Graduate Program. D. Y. Sha is the chair professor from Chung Yuan University and a former president of Chung Hua University. The MEM program focuses on cultivating masters-level engineering management talents through part-time course teaching, industrial immersion classes, and real application project research. The curriculum includes 36 course credits, with one 2-credit course “Product Development Management (PDM).” The PDM course prepares the MEM students to understand customer needs from HFE perspectives, and then develop concept using the TRIZ theory to achieve the functions defined based on needs analysis.

Application for the IEA/Tsinghua Award

The IEA/Tsinghua Award for Collaborative Human Factors and Ergonomics Education for Industrially Developing Countries is given annually to honor persons who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the success of postgraduate educational programs through international/inter-regional collaboration with the corresponding program. Up to four individuals nominated from up to 2 nominating educational programs may be selected. The winners altogether will share $8,000 USD.

The educational program should have a human factors and ergonomics (HF/E) course in its curriculum or substantial HF/E content in its courses. The educational program should be either from a non-high-income country university or from a program in a high-income country whose students have been mainly from non-high income countries with low to medium actual tuition burden (for example, those that offer financial support). The following criteria will apply for nomination:

  • The nominee should be a member of an IEA federated/affiliated society.
  • The nominee should be nominated by a related educational program through an IEA federated/affiliated.
  • The recipient should not be an employee of the corresponding educational programs, although a visiting scholar is eligible.
  • The nominating educational program should have human factors and ergonomics courses in its curriculum or contain substantial human factors and ergonomics contents in some courses.
  • The nominating program should be either from a university in a low-income or middle-income country, or from a university in a high-income country with students mainly from low-income and middle-income countries with a low to medium tuition burden (for example, with financial support available). This award does not consider nominees from high-tuition education programs.
  • The nominee has not won the proposed award before.
  • The nomination is made to IEA through an IEA federated/affiliated society.

Please combine the following evidentiary items into a single pdf file and send it to the Chair of Award Standing Committee (at and Vice President and Secretary General ( by June 30, each year. (NOTE: for 2020, the deadline has been extended to 31 December 2020.)  The application must be submitted through IEA federated/affiliated society.

  • A nomination letter from the nominating society that details the achievements and qualifications of the nominated education program.
  • A nomination letter from the education program that details the contributions of the nominee that qualify him or her to receive the award.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae or résumé.