Text Size
What is Ergonomics About IEA IEA Projects IEA Projects IEA Awards Member's Area
Yearly Awards Triennial Awards Recipients
IEA Awards >>Yearly Awards >>

The IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal

The IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal in Occupational Safety and Ergonomics was instituted in 1998. The medal with an accompanying monetary award of $10,000US recognizes outstanding original research leading to the reduction or mitigation of work-related injuries and/or to the advancement of theory, understanding, and development of occupational safety research.

The IEA is inviting applications for the IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal

(Please note, the submission deadline is May 31 every year)

Through this prestigious medal, the IEA seeks to recognize outstanding original research leading to the reduction or mitigation of work-related injuries. The main criteria include significant advancement of theory and understanding, innovation and development of new directions or approaches. The award recipient will receive a monetary award of $10,000. The monetary award is inclusive of funding for recipients to present their research in a special IEA/Liberty Mutual Lecture at the next IEA Triennial Congress.

Applicants need not belong to the IEA or any of its constituent groups. Relevant disciplines include ergonomics, epidemiology, biomechanics, cognitive and behavioural psychology, design, physiology, medical sciences, economics, engineering, etc.

Submission Requirements

To be considered for the Liberty Mutual Medal, the applicant must submit a letter of application and a research paper in the domain of accident prevention, injury reduction and/or early return to work, including rehabilitation. The paper must:
  • be scholarly in nature such as an original paper describing laboratory, field, or intervention research (see FAQ for further elaboration)
  • contain non-proprietary data
  • be unpublished at the time of submission or have been published within the previous calendar year
  • be thirty pages or less, single-spaced using 12 point font with 1 inch margins

The paper should address the following topics:
  • contributions of the research to theory, i.e., how the work advances the understanding of the causes of accidents and/or ability to mitigate occupational injuries or disability
  • aims of research
  • originality and creativity of the work
  • study methodology
  • implications for risk reduction

The cover letter should highlight:
  • main innovative aspects of the study (e.g., approach, methodology, analysis, etc.)
  • anticipated contribution to occupational safety

An international review committee, established by the IEA, will select the winning contribution.

The authors of an unpublished winning paper are expected to submit the paper to one of the IEA-endorsed scientific journals (see list on the IEA website, here). All recipients of the IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal are invited and expected to present their research in a special IEA/Liberty Mutual Lecture at the next IEA Triennial Congress, using part of the monetary award for travel to the Congress.

Persons wishing to be considered for the medal should submit an application, including a separate cover letter and the paper in electronic format, to the IEA Awards Committee Chair and the IEA Vice President/Secretary General at the following addresses:

The deadline for receipt of applications is May 31 every year. Applicants will be notified of the results by mid-July. Announcement of the award winner will be made public in August.

If you require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact the IEA Awards Committee Chair at the above-noted address. Click FAQ to view Frequently Asked Questions.