Text Size
What is Ergonomics About IEA IEA Projects IEA Projects IEA Awards Member's Area
Yearly Awards Triennial Awards Recipients
IEA Awards >>Yearly Awards >> IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal >>

IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal Frequently Asked Questions

Q1 What is the purpose of the medal?
The purpose of the medal is to recognize individuals whose research efforts have contributed the reduction or mitigation of work-related injuries. In particular, the medal is awarded to recognize original research leading to a better understanding of avoiding or mitigating occupational accidents or injuries, or to rehabilitation and return to work of injured workers. The main criteria, therefore, include significant advancement of theory and understanding, innovation and development of new directions or approaches.
Q2 What is meant by scholarly work?
Originality is the key defining characteristic of scholarly work. Originality is to be interpreted broadly. One common form of scholarship is the discovery of new knowledge, which may take on many different forms and includes the generation of new concepts, ideas, principles and theorems. Another form of scholarship is the innovative coordination, synthesis or integration of knowledge. This type of scholarship seeks and promotes understanding in a broader context, by organizing knowledge in a new and useful way, by illustrating new relationships between the parts and the whole, by relating the past in a new way to the present and future, or by demonstrating new and significant patterns of meaning.
Q3 Does the IEA endorse Liberty Mutual policy directions?
The establishment of the medal should not be construed as endorsement of Liberty Mutual. However, it is recognized that Liberty Mutual sponsors a variety of activities aimed at improving worker health and safety. The IEA shares the belief that the medal will stimulate efforts to combat the unacceptably high incidence of work-related injuries and raise awareness within the industrial, governmental and academic communities of the pervasive nature of the problem and its associated high social and economic consequences.
Q4 Is this medal limited to ergonomics?
No. Significant contributions can come from a variety of disciplines such as ergonomics, epidemiology, biomechanics, design, cognitive and behavioral psychology, physiology and anatomy, economics, etc. Submission from any discipline that is consistent with the purpose of the award will be considered.
Q5 Why is Liberty Mutual doing this through the International Ergonomics Association?
The IEA is the federation of ergonomics and human factors societies throughout the world. As such, it fosters an extensive network of experts in work sciences and related disciplines. This network will ensure that the selection of the winners reflects the best judgment of the international scientific community. Furthermore, the implementation procedures established by the IEA ensure that decisions are impartial.
Q6 Who will select the winners?
An international review committee, established by the IEA, will determine the winning contribution.
Q7 What does the medal comprise?
The IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal consists of a plaque (or certificate), medal, and monetary award ($10,000US).
Q8 When will the award ceremony take place?
The annual medal may be awarded during an IEA-sponsored conference or a conference in the country of the recipient, as well as during the IEA Triennial Congress.
Q9 Who will pay for the travel expenses?
The award recipient is responsible for his/her travel expenses to attend the awards ceremony. All recipients of the IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal are invited and expected to present their research at the next IEA Triennial Congress, using part of the monetary award for travel to the Congress.
Q10 Who is eligible to apply?
As indicated previously, applicants need not belong to the IEA or any of its constituent groups. Relevant disciplines include ergonomics, epidemiology, biomechanics, cognitive and behavioural psychology, design, physiology, medical sciences, economics, engineering, etc. The medal will be awarded to individuals, not organizations. If the winning submission names more than one individual, the named individuals shall share the award.