Text Size
What is Ergonomics About IEA IEA Projects IEA Projects IEA Awards Member's Area

Sustaining Members

Diamond Level

Platinum Level

Gold plus Level

Gold Level

The Korea Occupational Health and Safety Agency

IEA corporate sponsors / international partners


IEA2021 Congress

IEA2018 Congress

IEA2018 Presentation

Overview Recent Achievements
News & Events >> News >>

Announcement of The IEA/Tsinghua HFE Education Award

Date:10 May 2019

The IEA/Tsinghua Award for Collaborative Human Factors and Ergonomics Education for Industrially Developing Countries (hereafter abbreviated as The IEA/Tsinghua HFE Education Award) is given annually to honor persons who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the success of postgraduate educational programs through international/inter-regional collaboration with the corresponding program. Up to four individuals nominated from up to 2 nominating educational programs may be selected. The winners altogether will share 8,000 USD. Applications are due September 30 for 2019, and May 31 for 2020 and after.

The educational program should have a human factors and ergonomics (HFE) course in its curriculum or substantial HFE content in its courses. The educational program should be either from a non-high income country university or from a program in a high-income country whose students have been mainly from non-high income countries with low to medium actual tuition burden (for example, those that offer financial support). The following criteria will apply for nomination:
• The nominee should be a member of an IEA federated/affiliated society.
• The nominee should be nominated by a related educational program through an IEA federated/affiliated
• The recipient should not be an employee of the corresponding educational programs, although a visiting scholar is eligible.
• The nominating educational program should have HFE courses in its curriculum or contain substantial HFE contents in some courses.
• The nominating program should be either from a university in a low-income or middle-income country, or from a university in a high-income country with students mainly from low-income and middle-income countries with a low to medium tuition burden (for example, with financial support available). This award does not consider nominees from high-tuition education programs.
• The nominee has not won the proposed award before.
• The nomination is made to IEA through an IEA federated/affiliated society.

Please combine the following evidentiary items into a single pdf file and send it to the Chair of Award Standing Committee (at PastPres@iea.cc) and Vice President and Secretary General (VP_SG@iea.cc) by September 30, 2019. From 2020, the due date will be May 31 every year. The application must be submitted through IEA federated/affiliated society.
• A nomination letter from the nominating society that details the achievements and qualifications of the nominating education program.
• A nomination letter from the education program that details the contributions of the nominee that qualify him or her to receive the award.
• The nominee’s curriculum vitae or résumé.