INTERNATIONAL ERGONOMICS ASSOCIATION (IEA) K.U. SMITH STUDENT AWARD

The IEA K.U. Smith Student Award honors deserving students responsible for contributions to human factors/ergonomics (HF/E). Awards will be presented during the IEA 2024 Triennial Congress on Jeju Island, South Korea.

The Award winners each will receive a cash award of US \$3,000. A travel stipend also may be awarded.

Any student enrolled in an accredited post-secondary institution worldwide is eligible.

A student wishing to apply for the award should submit the following documents <u>via email</u> (see contact information below):

- (1) A full copy of a paper that the student has authored, which documents an HF/E contribution. The student should be first author on a coauthored paper.
- (2) A resume (4 pages limit, student name, address, e-mail, phone, institution, experience, publications, HF/E accomplishments/contributions).
- (3) A letter from the student's academic adviser on institutional letterhead certifying: (1) the paper was written by the student; (2) the student was primarily responsible for the work described in the paper; (3) the student was enrolled in the academic program when this work was carried out; (4) the period of time over which the work was carried out; (5) the work described was completed after August 2021; and (6) the paper is being submitted for the IEA KU Smith Student Award.

Awardees will be selected using four criteria:

- 1. HF/E scientific and technical merit
- 2. Relevance to design issues
- 3. Practical relevance
- 4. Originality and innovative content.

Deadlines for the IEA KU Smith Student Award are as follows:

October 31, 2023	Papers, resumes and advisor letters received by the IEA KU Smith Student Award Committee Chair.
January 15, 2024	Applicants and winners informed of results.
March 15, 2024	Full papers by the winners due to IEA 2021 Congress Program Committee (visit https://iea2024.com/ for details).

Submissions/questions should be sent to IEA Student Award Committee Chair:

Professor Pascale Carayon

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Founding Director of the Wisconsin Institute for Healthcare Systems Engineering

University of Wisconsin-Madison – USA

Email: pcarayon@wisc.edu

Please note that you should also submit your 900-word abstract to the IEA 2024 Congress system in order to be considered for the conference, independently of whether you are selected for the IEA KU Smith student award. For more details: https://iea2021.org/ [deadline for submitting abstracts = October 31, 2023].