The IEA Council, made up of representatives of all of the Federated Societies, elects the officers of the IEA for a three year term at a meeting in conjunction with  the IEA Triennial Congress. All elected officers have experience as a representative of a Federated Society. The officers work on an honorary basis and are responsible for the appointment and coordination of the Chairs of the Standing Committees and the day to day management of the IEA. The President may appoint ad hoc committee chairs for specific tasks . The IEA Executive is made up of the elected officers, the chairs of the six standing committees and the ad hoc chairs. The administrative tasks of the IEA are assisted by an Administration Officer, who is engaged by the elected officers.

Prof. Dr. José Orlando Gomes

President * Brazilian Ergonomics Association * Federal University of Rio de Janeiro * Email: president (at)

Dr. Maggie Graf

Vice-President & Secretary General * Swiss Ergonomics Society * Email: VPSG (at)

Prof. Dr. Thomas Alexander

Vice-President & Treasurer * Gesellschaft für Arbeitswissenschaft * Bundesanstalt für Arbeitsschutz und Arbeitsmedizin * Email: VPTreas (at)

Dr. Kathleen L. Mosier

Immediate Past President * Awards Standing Committee, Chair * Human Factors and Ergonomics Society * San Francisco State University * Teamscape, LLC * Email: PastPres (at)

Dr. Jonathan Davy

Communications and Public Relations Standing Committee, Chair * Rhodes University * Email: CPR (at)

Elina Parviainen

Development and Promotion Standing Committee, Chair * Nordic Countries Ergonomics Society * Human Process Consultation Ltd. * Finnish Ergonomics Society * Email: DPchair (at)

Dr. Anindya K. Ganguli

International Development Standing Committee, Chair * Indian Society of Ergonomics * Asian Council on Ergonomics and Design Bureau of Indian Standards * Email: IDChair (at)

Prof. Takeshi Ebara

Professional Standards and Education Standing Committee, Chair * Japan Human Factors and Ergonomics Society * University of Occupational and Environmental Health (UOEH) * Email: PSEChair (at)  

Prof. Nancy Black

Science, Technology & Practice Standing Committee, Chair * Association of Canadian Ergonomists/Association Canadienne d’Ergonomie * Université de Moncton * Email: STPChair (at)

Prof. Takashi Kawai

ICT Director * Japan Human Factors and Ergonomics Society * Waseda University * Email: ictdirector (at)

Prof. Myung Hwan Yun Chair

IEA2024 Congress Organizing Committee, Chair * Ergonomics Society of Korea * Seoul National University * Email: IEA2024 (at)

Prof. Andrew Thatcher

Future of Work Committee, Chair * University of the Witwatersrand * Email: worktaskforce (at)

Andrew Todd

Ad Hoc Committee on Strategic Development and Implementation, Chair * Ergonomics Society of South Africa * Rhodes University

Dr. Aleksandra Gamper

IEA Office Administrator office (at)

Shin’ichi Fukuzumi

IEA Advisory Group on Standardization, Chair *RIKEN, Tokyo Metropolitan University *Email: ahc-iso (at)


It has been reported that our members have been receiving phishing emails which fraudulently represent the IEA officers by using their email addresses (often misspelt), signatures and names. Such emails often ask to approve payments, make money transfers or disclose your personal data. IEA officers will never write to any of our members by email with such requests. If you receive such a message, please delete it immediately and do not reply.