An important function of the International Ergonomics Association is to grant formal recognition to members of Federated Societies who have made outstanding contributions to the field of ergonomics on an international level. Such recognition is offered through the IEA awards. Although all the awards are presented during the IEA Triennial Congresses, some are offered annually and others only once every three years (triennial awards).

The following annual awards are currently offered:

  • The IEA Fellowship is intended to honour distinguished long-serving members of the Federated Societies.
  • The Kingfar Award honours early career researchers and rewards high-quality original research and applications on new and emerging HFE issues or issues specifically related to industrially developing countries.
  • The Tsinghua Award honours collaborative HFE education in industrially developing countries.

The IEA currently offers eight Triennial Awards.

  • The IEA Distinguished Service Award
  • IEA Triennial Outstanding Educators Award
  • IEA Award for Promotion of Ergonomics in Developing Countries
  • IEA Triennial Ergonomics Development Award
  • IEA Human Factors and Ergonomics Prize
  • IEA/Elsevier John Wilson Award
  • The IEA President’s Award
  • K U Smith Student Award

For questions about the IEA awards not answered by the above  website links, please contact the immediate Past President, who is the Chair of the Awards Committee.