The IEA/Tsinghua Award for Collaborative Human Factors and Ergonomics Education (The IEA/Tsinghua HFE Education Award) is given annually to honor persons (e.g., researchers, teachers) who, through international and/or inter-regional collaboration, have made significant and outstanding contributions to the success of postgraduate educational programs that include human factors/ergonomics (HFE) courses or substantial HFE content in the curriculum.The intent of this award is to mobilize educators worldwide for HFE education.


Basic Structure

  • Honor eligible nominees who have made outstanding contributions to the success of postgraduate educational programs.
  • Select up to four programs. Each program may be represented by up to two nominees.
  • Award consists of a monetary prize of $4,000 per selected program. If there are 2 nominees from a program, the prize is shared by these individuals.


Eligibility of Educational Program

  • The program meets country standards for the education of masters or PhD level graduate students;
  • The program is a result of international/inter-regional collaboration. See Item-1 of Eligibility of Person Representing the Educational Program (below) for the nature of international/inter-regional collaboration;
  • The program has HFE courses in its curriculum or contains substantial HFE content in some courses;
  • The program may be implemented at a university in any country. Provisions for students in the program from low or middleincome countries should include scholarships and/or enable a tuition fee burden within the low to medium economic range;
  • The program is formally selected for consideration by an IEA Federated or Affiliated Society.


Eligibility of Person Representing the Educational Program

  • The nominee can be anyone (e.g., scholar, researcher, industrial expert) who contributed to the success of the selected educational program through its development or implementation. The contribution may be made through a short-term visit to the university, an inter-professor collaboration, or just by personal invitation. Directors, leaders, and key collaborating faculty of inter-regional or international collaborative programs are also eligible.
  • The nominee is a member of an IEA Federated or Affiliated Society;
  • The nominating person formally represents the educational program selected by an IEA Federated or Affiliated Society;
  • The nominee has not received the proposed award before.

Note: The IEA Award Committee may examine the eligibility and decline the application before a detailed technical evaluation takes place.


Nomination Process for the IEA/Tsinghua Award

  • The nomination should follow this process: (1) The representative of an educational program specifies one or two nominees from the program and applies to the IEA Federated or Affiliated Society in the country where the educational program is implemented; and (2) The society selects the educational program(s)/individual(s) to nominate. Note, any society may select up to two programs. Also note, each program can be represented by up to two nominees. These collaborators may be from different IEA member societies.
  • The nominating representative and society combine the following evidentiary documents into a single pdf file and send the file to the Chair of Awards Standing Committee (PastPres@iea.cc) and the Vice President and Secretary General (VPSG@iea.cc). The deadline for nominations is 15th January, 2024 so that the selection committee will have enough time to evaluate applications before the IEA2024 Congress. DEADLINE EXTENDED till 30th January 2024.
    • A letter of nomination from the nominating society that justifies the selection of the educational program and the nomination of person(s) representing the educational program;
    • A letter of nomination from a representative of the educational program that confirms the program meets country standards and documents the contributions of each nominated person;
    • Details of the selected educational program;
    • The nominee’s curriculum vitae or résumé. This document should include the nominee’s current mailing address and email address.
Note: The official language is English.



  • Fiona Trevelyan & Liz Ashby (New Zealand)
  • Pradip Kumar Ray & Denny Yu (India)
  • Eduardo Ferro (Brazil)
  • Paulo Antonio Oliveira (Brazil)


  • Tarcisio Abreu Saurin, Brazil Ergonomics Society (ABERGO)
  • Ting Li, Chinese Ergonomics Society (CES)
  • Rauf Iqbal, Indian Society of Ergonomics (ISE)


  • Prof. Paulo Victor Rodrigues de Carvalho (Brazilian inter-regional collaboration)
  • Prof. M. H. Agha and Prof. Aneel Salman (China, MEM Educational Program)


  • Vincent G. Duffy, Chartered Institute for Ergonomics and Human Factors/ Human Factors and Ergonomics Society
  • Jose Orlando Gomes, Associação Brasileira de Ergonomia


  • D. Y. Sha, Ergonomics Society of Taiwan